Szymon Marciniak with another distinction. He was second to none

Szymon Marciniak with another distinction.  He was second to none

The last time has been very successful for Szymon Marciniak. In just over a year, he officiated three important events – the final of the World Cup, the Champions League and the Club World Cup. Thanks to his great attitude, he was awarded a prestigious award by IFFHS in 2023.

Szymon Marciniak is the best Polish judge. Already in 2022, he was selected by IFFHS as the best referee of the year in the world. Let us recall that the referee officiated the final of the World Cup in Qatar between Argentina and France. After this meeting, he received positive comments.

A huge distinction for Szymon Marciniak

This was not the only important match he officiated in his career. The Pole also made history in football by leading the finals of the World Cup, Champions League and Club World Cup within a year and four days. Of which the last two meetings took place in 2023. This did not escape the attention of IFFHS, which decided to distinguish it again.

“In 2023, Szymon Marciniak was again crowned by the IFFHS as the best referee of the year in the world thanks to his regularity and charisma. He scored 175 points and highly defeated Italian Daniele Orsato, winner of the IFFHS award in 2020, and Frenchman Clement Turpin. Two English referees, Michael Oliver and Anthony Taylor, took places 4 and 5, just ahead of the young French talent Francois Letexier,” we read on the website of the International Federation of Football Historians and Statisticians.

Szymon Marciniak outclassed his rivals in this year’s ranking. Our compatriot collected as many as 80 points more than Orsato. In turn, Turpin was ahead by a dizzying 111 points. Next in the ranking were the Englishmen – Michael Oliver (36 points) and Anthony Taylor (34 points) and the Frenchman Francois Letexier (28 points). Dutchman Danny Makkelie scored 19 points, while Colombian Wilmar Roldan scored three points less. The top ten was rounded out by Spaniard Jesus Gil Manzano (11 points) and German (Felix Zwayer).

  • 1. Szymon Marciniak; Poland; UEFA; 175 points

  • 2. Danielle Orsato; Italy; UEFA; 95 points

  • 3. Clement Turpin; France; UEFA; 64 points

  • 4. Michael Oliver; England; UEFA; 36 points

  • 5. Anthony Taylor; England; UEFA; 34 points

  • 6. François Letexier; France; UEFA; 28 points

  • 7. Danny Makkelie; Netherlands; UEFA; 19 points

  • 8. Wilmar Roldan; Columbia; CONMEBOL; 16 points

  • 9. Jesus Gil Manzano; Spain; UEFA; 11 points

  • 10. Felix Zwayer; Germany; UEFA; 9 points

Similar Posts